Stringing my Life Together: Purishpa takini, takishpa purini.


Food shopping and more…
2008/09/03, 06:46
Filed under: Uncategorized

The days are passing by incredibly slow. With so many things to do, each day feels like 3 or 4, and Tara, Richard, and I are wiped out by the end of the day. Filling a kitchen with basic foods to have on hand isn’t easy either. Yesterday, I spent about $90 for my half…and that’s with $20 of savings from sales! Now I’m waiting for them to send me coupons. It’s weird…I remember my mom LIVED off coupons, but it doesn’t seem like they are used as much any more…or even printed to be used.

Today was really long. State Farm, DMV, Time Warner, Post Office, Target (again!), Big Lots, and Ralph’s. I’m pooped, and still haven’t found a bed or desk. Tomorrow I’m hoping to head out to campus to get my student I.D. and show my brother and Tara around, but that depends on how the DMV goes for the second round, where I should get my California Driver’s License and register to vote. The DMV must be man’s creation of hell on earth. I wish I took a picture of it today…it looked like a scene straight out of a movie.

Total spent today: $17.32 at Big Lots!, $22.16 at Target, and $6.78 at Ralphs. Running sum for moving across the country…$867.26 (not including rent and whatnot). Still cheaper than if I had rented a car alone to drive over here.

Unfortunately, we still haven’t made it to the beach, or even to the pool downstairs at the apartment complex. Hopefully tomorrow will be the last day of big time errands, and Thursday we’re hoping to make a trip to Santa Ana.

However, not related to moving…today marks the year anniversary of one of my best friend’s death in a car accident. It’s really hard to believe. A year ago I was in Potsdam, came home and found out just as I was preparing for the first day of student teaching. Sadly he’s not the only friend or acquaintance of my age to have passed away like that. It can really make you look at life (and the life of those around you) in a different way. Justin was a great friend and it’s still hard to fathom that someone who had such energy now ceases to exist. Life is precious, and no one should ever assume that he or she is not susceptible to risks. The truth of the matter is…it can happen to you or someone you know. Sometimes a small, stupid mistake is all it takes. I was glad to hear there was a benefit to start a memorial scholarship in his memory.

The past few years, and even this past year especially, have brought so many ups and downs…and I’ve come to realize that this is only the beginning of what is thrown at you for the rest of your life.

RIP Justin…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

