Stringing my Life Together: Purishpa takini, takishpa purini.


ELECTION DAY!!
2008/11/04, 17:08
Filed under: Politics

I have a ton to write about this week!  I’ll work backwards a bit, however, beginning with voting today, and later posting some pictures from Día de Los Muertos in Santa Ana.

Due to a foreign language exam, my day was exceptionally long today…10am-6pm NO BREAKS between exam, class, and seminar.  I figured, the best time to go would be early.  I woke up the earliest I’ve had to since I was teaching (on 4.5 hours of sleep, mind you).  I left the house around 6:20am, and walked to the polling site.  ~6:30am arrival…thirty minutes early for the opening, as I wasn’t sure what to expect seeing how the only other election I’ve been able to vote in, I used an absentee balot.

By 6:45am, the line was almost a block in the neighborhood.  It had the energy of 3am black Friday mall shopping…waiting for tickets to a concert (like when Billy Joel and Elton John came to Syracuse)…or even when I went to the Price is Right a few years ago!  There was so much of this energy with everyone, but it had this added weight of significance to it.  It was slightly intoxicating…better than a cup ‘o Joe.

A woman in the line with me was telling me she had been voting here for over 30 years, and there was NEVER a line, rather, two or three other voters at a time, MAYBE if you went when it was busy.

By 7:22am, the line had begun to go around the curb.  Judging by the distance of where I stood and the twenty minutes it took me to get through the line once the polls opened, it looked like the wait would be anywhere from 1 hour to 1.5 hours.

I wasn’t the only one taking pictures though, plenty of people were taking shots on their cell phones (I was nerdy and intentionally brought my camera…I’m completely fine with the featureless, free cell phones that I get with Verizon’s two year plans!)

Anyways, off to my language exam, and FREE BEN AND JERRY’S ICE CREAM with Tara tonight because I voted 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

