Stringing my Life Together: Purishpa takini, takishpa purini.


Way past due!!
2008/12/10, 08:29
Filed under: Los Angeles, Thoughts

Okay, so I’m FINALLY done with finals and papers…wow, talk about an intensive last few weeks.

In reverse order…

• Tomorrow I’m BOUND for NEW YORK!  Excited to see family, friends, previous students, and SNOW!!!

• A few days ago I saw Jay Leno driving an antique car (my first celebrity sighting…is that like a rite of passage when you live in LA?)

• Advice #8:  When you live across the country, sometimes it’s easier to NOT travel on Thanksgiving.  Granted, I only flew to Texas rather than NY (and it was worth it to see Gio, and his cousin and sister)…but a bit taxing when the last week of classes was RIGHT after, TONS of projects were assigned, and a crazy mother-in-law was involved.  Next year, I will stay in LA and relax…do hw…have Gio over for a few days…AND SLEEP IN every day 🙂

• I attended Rin’s hour recital down in Long Beach…I had a great time with her, Lisa, and her friends and family and it was crazy how there were two more Cranies in Los Angeles!!  I miss them and am looking forward to sight reading some quartets come spring and summer 🙂

• When my mother was here, we had a good time going to Santa Monica Beach and the Griffith Observatory.  On our way to Griffith, we had stopped for lunch at a café where my mother saw Christina Aguilera (although I didn’t even realize it was her!! Kind of ironic).  I wouldn’t have approached her either way, but her music is totally a guilty pleasure of mine 🙂  When we were leaving the Observatory, we also saw a WILD COYOTE!!  He just kind of almost walked into us, and gave us this look like, “who the heck are you?!”  All in all, a great time, and I was glad my mother could come out here!

• Reaching WAAAYY back was Día De Los Muertos, which I spent in Santa Ana.  It was awesome!  We started the day at El Centro, playing some more Son Jarocho music, and I felt like I was catching on some more and hope to be able to go back!  At the festivities, I really liked watching the dancers/musicians, buying gifts for people, and just soaking it all up.  I have dreamed of going to a celebration like this since Mrs. Resnick’s class in 7th grade Spanish 🙂  The one in Santa Ana is supposedly one of the best in Southern California too.  There was just something about the drumming and the dancing that pulled me in…It was cool to have the drums rattle my rib cage, and it made me feel like I was internalizing them even more, but it wasn’t just the drums, it was a slice of my heritage.

Well….enjoy the photos!  I’m off to finish packing and get some shuteye….preparing myself for a drastic change in temperature!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

