Stringing my Life Together: Purishpa takini, takishpa purini.


Akwesasne and Dog Rescue
2008/12/21, 23:04
Filed under: Research, Thoughts

Whoo…busy few days.

Thursday, I visited the middle school where I taught last year.  It was great to visit the students and former co-workers…I kind of wanted to just stay!  I was so glad I could visit some of the schools I worked at last year.  As much as I love being a student again, I miss teaching.

On Friday, Gio, my Mother, our puppy Oliver, and I traveled north, despite the threatening winter weather that was scheduled to hit CNY.  I was able to go visit one of the Akwesasne schools and attend their holiday concert (Christmas songs and skits in English and Mohawk) and learn about the Mohawk immersion program.  It was really exciting and Margaret Peters was amazingly helpful and informative.  I came home with plenty of resources and I’m looking forward to diving in on my master’s thesis 🙂  The drive home was pretty crazy though…we stopped in Potsdam, saw Jay at The Fields (I’m sorry, I will never call it Jake and Weezie’s or whatever the name was changed to), then drove the rest.  A 2.5 hour drive took over 4 hours with all of the snow!

Today, Gio and I volunteered to help with the Dog Rescue Railroad.  This was my third time and Gio’s first.  The Dog Rescue Railroad is a network of people who help rescue pets from kill shelters, and volunteer a few hours of a day and drive 60-90 mile legs.  Today, the dogs we helped save were from Indiana and Ohio.  So far, I have helped save 15 dogs and puppies (with the help of Gio and Sierra, and many other fantastic people!)  Here are some photos of the dogs we transported today…

To read more about how you can help dogs like this, visit:

http://community.livejournal.com/driveforlife/

or

http://goghdesign.com/drr/index.html

or search “Dog Rescue Railroad” on Yahoo! Groups.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

